English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Writing Club September 20, 2011

Filed under: slice of life writing,wn entry,writing,Writing Club — hey2blondie @ 9:36 pm

It’s official. I am starting a writer’s club this school year. For several years now I have wanted to conduct a writing club, but wasn’t sure how. This year I took the plunge and wrote the proposal! My principal is excited about this new endeavor at our school. The name of the club is The Spilling Ink Writer’s Club. I have the book Spilling Ink: A Young Writer’s Handbook and wanted to learn more, so I googled it. Guess what? The authors have a blog  with a plethora of writing information for young writers. This year we will use the book Spilling Ink. I have made buying the book optional. The club is for students in grades 4-8. My hope is that the students will come to enjoy being with a community of writers along with creative writing. Our first official meeting will be Wednesday, October 21. I can’t wait!

 

4 Responses to “Writing Club”

  1. This is awesome! I love the image of the spilling ink bottle by the way. 🙂 I am very interested to know how things go on the 21st and throughout the year. I would like to start a writing club too. Have you had other writing events at your school?

  2. hey2blondie Says:

    Thanks! This will be our first writing event as a school. I have hosted writing events through my writing project and they have been successful. My hope is the club will be an even greater success! I will definately share the outcomes.

  3. onesunflower Says:

    How exciting – thanks for the book suggestion, I’ll pass it on to my gradeschool teacher-friends. I hope you share more about the experience.

  4. Angela Says:

    This is awesome, Andi! I can’t wait to hear how it goes. Keep us updated!!


Leave a Reply

