English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Thrill of Ebay March 31, 2011

Filed under: slice of life writing — hey2blondie @ 8:09 pm

Two days ago I placed a bid on Ebay for a Vera Bradley Folkloric Hipster purse. I had seen it at a boutique while in Nashbille but didn’t want to pay full price, so I ventured onto Ebay, my favorite site. All day I thought about that purse. Eight o’clock was nearing and I had to get my daughter into bed. I bathed her and dried her hair. I clothed her in her warm fleece pajamas. I read her favorite story to her. I rocked her. Then she got up and said, “eat!” I told her we just ate an hour ago. Of course she doesn’t understand that – she’s two!

We ventured downstairs and I got her some milk and a banana. In my mind I was thinking she’s stalling. She finished her “midnight” snack and we went upstairs. We rocked. Finally, she fell asleep. I raced to the computer screen to see those red flashing numbers 35seconds and so on. I didn’t win! I frantically typed in my search. I got lucky – there was another purse about to end in 11 minutes. I decided to use my secret weapon – auctionsniper.com! I won the second auction! What a thrill!! I now have a new purse $47.00 later. I’m happy because I didn’t pay full price. Even if I wanted to pay full price, the Vera Bradley site doesn’t even have the pattern I want.

 

3 Responses to “The Thrill of Ebay”

  1. the other ruth Says:

    Congrats on your new purse!
    The suspense as I read your post was great–could just picture you rocking and thinking, “hurry, hurry, sleepy, sleepy”. 🙂

  2. onesunflower Says:

    It is a good thing our children don’t have ESP and the ability as toddlers to engage in questioning what we are really thinking about!

  3. Elizabeth E. Says:

    Very cool story. I’ll have to tell my husband about your Secret Weapon–he loves to haunt eBay for his passion: wooden nutcrackers. I had to click over and see the purse–wowsers! How fun!

    Happy Writing–see you next year!


Leave a Reply

