English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Standards March 17, 2011

Filed under: slice of life writing — hey2blondie @ 3:56 pm

In the back of my mind I thought, “Oh, not another assembly. I’ve got so much to do before Spring Break.” as my class and I walked up to the gym. The gym was set up with large black speakers, 5 microphone stands, and a lot of other technical equipment needed to put on a concert. My class found their seats on the hard blue bleachers. They were giddy with excitement. Why? They’re out of class! Our guidance counselor introduces the not so sure crowd to The Standards.

The Standards came into the gym singing in harmony. The crowd roared with excitement. We sang songs of love and fellowship. I enjoyed every minute of it. That thought that I had at the beginning of the assembly faded away within five seconds of  The Standards singing. It was a great way to start the day! What I enjoyed best was sitting next to one of my quiet students and seeing him smile and actually enjoy himself.

 

3 Responses to “The Standards”

  1. ng Says:

    You often get so caught up in your schedule that you forget to stop, sit and enjoy. I agree it was a great way to start a day.

  2. elsie Says:

    Sounds like a good time for all! A little singing in the morning lifts the spirit all day.

  3. How nice that your school could take that time together, and that your quiet student responded so positively. I hope the rest of the day was a fabulous as the morning sounded.


Leave a Reply

