English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Goose Bumps March 11, 2011

Filed under: slice of life writing — hey2blondie @ 9:35 am

Goose bumps cover my arms as I watch the coverage of the Tsunami hitting Japan. It seems as though there are natural disasters hitting every day. Is it the end? Is 2012 coming? I know it sounds silly, but I never used to think about it until last year. One of my students would write in his writer’s notebook about 2012 and how it was coming. Each day would be an elaborate story of what’s to come. Not like what you see on TV. His descriptions would include conspiracies of why the lunch lady served green eggs to the war in the middle east.

As the goose bumps decrease, my mind eases. I look forward to what’s to come. My bags are packed including my sewing machine. Today marks my mom and I’s annual tradition – Quilt Retreat! Every year we travel to Memphis to  meet up with 60 ladies and quilt all weekend long. The only thinking that I will be doing will be on my next project. My goal this weekend is to finish a 3 year old UFO (unfinished object). Our tradition starts with lunch at Bahama Breeze, a little shopping, and then off to get our special seat. My mind is at ease because I know I can’t control the future, but I can control the fun I will be having with my mom!

 

2 Responses to “Goose Bumps”

  1. Wanda Brown Says:

    Control is a hard thing for all of us to manage. We all need to let go of what we cannot control and take on what we can control. Easier said than done on most days. Enjoy quilting with your mom…sounds like something you can control and something that will last a lifetime in memories.

  2. Elizabeth G. Says:

    I understand what you mean about goosebumps. I had them this morning as well. There seems to be one big disaster after the next. Scary! Prayers are with those families.


Leave a Reply

