English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Buzz in the Air March 10, 2011

Filed under: literature circles,slice of life writing — hey2blondie @ 3:21 pm

There’s a buzz in the air. It’s not a bee or a fly.  The buzz is coming from my students in Literature Circles. It’s a productive buzz – not too loud. Students are reading, discussing and some are even arguing their point. I love when my students are in Literature Circles. I feel this is when the true learning comes in.  Today is one of those days – students are learning from one another; pacing themselves with their reading.  From my desk I can hear a group of girls giddy with excitement acting like the characters themselves. I smile.

 

5 Responses to “Buzz in the Air”

  1. ng Says:

    Your lead about “the buzz” hooked me in. It is the best feeling when students are connecting, talking and thinking about their reading.

  2. Natalee Says:

    You hooked me with the lead sentences. I immediately identified with your piece because it is one of my favorite things: listening to my students talk about their books. The alliteration, “a group of girls giddy with excitement” created a image of girls giggling over what they were doing and their joy at acting out the story.

  3. Diana Martin Says:

    You are so right about lit circles. Watching and listening kids make meaning while discussing their books is electric. Love the picture too.

  4. Theresa Says:

    Students talking about books…music to our teacher ears. I too thought your lead was a grabber. ~Theresa

  5. Andi,
    Your piece puts me in that place. I can hear the conversing, and I liked your addition about arguing their point. I’ve been working on that with one of my Literature Circle groups, “how to kindly argue and further a conversation.”
    A delicious moment. Thanks for sharing,
    Erin


Leave a Reply

