English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Muscles Cry Stop March 9, 2011

Filed under: slice of life writing — hey2blondie @ 8:42 pm

My heart pounds as I step on the bosu ball. My muscles cry, “stop!”  My mind says, “keep going. You can do it.” I look up at the clock. It’s only been 5 minutes. I am not sure how much longer I can endure this. I refocus on the instructor. “10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 and again,” she shouts over the music. The other exercisers groan like I do. Again I look at the clock – it’ s been 10 minutes. I remind myself that I shouldn’t have taken off from exercising last week.

It seems as I get older it’s harder for me to get back into an exercise routine. When I am in my routine, I feel so much better – refreshed, energized, content. With exercise I am a better person, teacher, mother, wife, and friend. I remind myself that I will be going to the gym again.

As the clock ticks away, I slowly get into the groove of the instructors ques. Deep down my body is saying thank you, but it doesn’t really want to admit it. I soon forget about the clock and the pain. My body feels happy – I’m happy.

 

 

 

8 Responses to “My Muscles Cry Stop”

  1. the other ruth Says:

    This is great! It makes me think that it’s high time I start exercising again–even if I have to work through the pain at first.

  2. Ashley Dawn Says:

    Good for you! Keep going.

  3. Cathy Says:

    I love using the Bosu for squats! And yes, I do that too – I often will look at the clock and see how much time has passed and how much time there is to go.

    Way to put your body first!

  4. elsie Says:

    You make think about going back to pilates, ouch, it will be painful.

    • Kim Says:

      Sometimes I don’t like to exercise, but I ALWAYS like having exercised! I do it as much for my brain as I do for my body. I agree with you– it makes me a better juggler of all the proverbial balls I have in the air.

  5. Jessica Says:

    I feel the same way about exercise! Torture in the middle, bliss after. I am grateful now that my Pilates instructor doesn’t keep a clock in the room!! 🙂

  6. mocshire Says:

    Exercise NO please! I’ve been walking all day!

  7. jen Says:

    This reminds me of how often I look up at the clock during my workout with my trainer (which starts at 6AM) and say, “Seriously!?!? It’s ONLY 6:32???” 🙂 But, we all know… we never regret exercising! 🙂 Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

