English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Sound of Writing March 8, 2011

Filed under: slice of life writing — hey2blondie @ 10:39 am

It is 9:25 in the morning. My seventh grade class is silent except for the clicking of the keys on their keyboards. This is the sound of writing. I love this sound especially when it’s my students writing. The silence is broken by the chatter of students editing their work. I’m thrilled by their initiative and eager to read their finished pieces.

 

5 Responses to “The Sound of Writing”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I love that sound! I am on maternity leave until January 2012 and a colleague just told me my replacement is the queen of worksheets! “my classroom” isn’t a writing classroom anymore. Makes me feel sad! (But I’m not going back early!)

  2. MaryHelen Says:

    Silence on the outside; noisy thoughts in the inside. Love the picture in my head of this class. Beautifully put.

  3. Ruth Ferris Says:

    Congratulations on your baby!

  4. Erandi Says:

    This is the sound of writing, it sounds me like the title of a song or a poem.
    Congratulations for your class and students. Teaching is a lofty activity

  5. Erandi Says:

    Of course a noble activity too 🙂


Leave a Reply

