English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Writer’s Notebook Strategies October 19, 2010

Each day I try to give my students a new writing strategy with their writers notebook. Aimee Buckner’s book Notebook Know How has several strategies and ways to incorporate writer’s notebooks into your classroom.   I also use Roberta Allen’s book The Playful Way to Serious Writing. I have decided though that any mini-writing lesson can be a strategy. I have branched out on my own and have come up with a few strategies on my own.

I do grade my students’ notebooks. 9 weeks have come and gone. Last week I graded my 6th and 7th graders’ writer’s notebooks. I was impressed with how many students used the writing strategies taught in class with their own entries. My classes are to write 3 home entries a week in their notebooks. At the end of the quarter, I have my students count all of their class entries and then all of their home entries. I like to separate the two so I can tell who is writing at home.

This week my 7th graders are working on writing of choice so I wanted them to have another poetry type idea, so today I read them several examples of odes. I got the idea from Georgia Heard’s book Writing Toward Home. I would like to share with you the ode I wrote today with my students.

Picture came from Babycenter.com

 

Ode to My Hair

Oh, how

I love thee

Your wispy strands

Glistening in the sun

You are a fashion

Statement

Without you

I would be

Nothing!

 

Andi N.

 

5 Responses to “Writer’s Notebook Strategies”

  1. Alakaline Says:

    Finding the extraordinary in everyday things.. wonderful.. you topic is what caught my eye and brought me here 🙂

    cheerz,

  2. Jingle Says:

    I love these too.
    so cool,

    beautiful words to say it.

  3. In 3 words,simple,elegant and beautiful!


Leave a Reply

