English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Peer Revision June 30, 2010

Last week my coworker had our writing campers peer revise. She had each student paste their writing on a large sheet of construction paper. Students were then advised to go around the room and revise each others’ papers by writing comments on the construction paper next to their work. The students enjoyed reading what everyone had written on their papers.

This week I have been facilitating a writing camp at my school. I have 6 lucky students to be involved with writing. Each day they have left with smiles on their faces. We have written several pieces. Today I taught my students the STAR strategy I blogged about last week. I also used Nancie Atwell’s spider leg technique; however, I changed it up a little. I first had each individual find 2 places (2 legs) where they could use STAR in their writing. After each student added 2 legs, I passed out 2 lime green “legs” to each student. They were to go around the room and add “legs” to their peers’ papers. I heard the comment that I should use this technique in school this year, and I will!

 

One Response to “Peer Revision”

  1. Valium Says:

    The report has verified useful to us. It’s quite educational and you’re simply naturally very educated in this region. You possess popped my personal face in order to different views on this kind of topic along with intriguing, notable and reliable articles.


Leave a Reply

