English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cereal Box Book Reports March 8, 2010

 

During the month of February, my students worked in literature circles. Every year after reading their books, I have them do some sort of project. In years past I had them create book jackets. I decided I wanted to do something different, so I began my internet research on different ways to present book reports. I came across the cereal box book report. I fell in love with the idea the moment I read what the students had to do.

So I typed up the guidelines and presented them to my students. I even included a rubric so they would know what I was grading them for. Their cereal boxes turned out great! I was so impressed with my students’ creativity on their boxes.

After completing their cereal boxes, the groups had to come up with a commercial to SELL their cereal, which meant sell the book. I created a rubric for this as well. I am a big advocate of my students knowing what is expected of them. Anyways, today my students presented their commercials. I was a little disappointed with the commercials because some groups didn’t sell the book; they just sold the cereal. I am glad that I video taped the commercials because I could really focus on what I wanted to grade for. I could stop it or replay it if I didn’t catch something. Tomorrow I will show them to the students and have them grade themselves to see if they pick up the same things I did.

I am still glad that we went through with this book report. I will do them again, but I would make a few changes. Some of the changes that I would make include the following:

  • make sure students understand the concept of the commercial even after going over the rubric
  • have a test run before students present to make sure they are on target
  • have a set deadline and not change it – I kept pushing the time back because the students said they weren’t ready, but in reality I felt they were goofing off
  • have students work on the commercial and present at the end of the week not on a Monday
  • realize that this will be a loud process
 

3 Responses to “Cereal Box Book Reports”

  1. barbara Says:

    Very creative and nice. My daugther has a report due in this format. I appreciate your input and advice. I will pass this on to my friends.

  2. Tina Thrash Says:

    Would you share your list of expectations and the rubric you used. I’m interested in trying this with my lit circle groups. Thanks

  3. Melinda Says:

    I do this every year and I too have had to make some adjustments to the process. We cover our boxes in class. This takes two day ( 25 kids) with the color paper of their choice. I hot glue them together ( 1 day) and send them home. I go over everything that I expect and have also made a deadline I stick to. Overall, my students enjoy it and I have had some really wonderful report boxes over the years!


Leave a Reply

