English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Poetry Read-A-Thon April 11, 2008

Starting Monday, my classes will begin our first poetry read a thon. I got the idea from poets.org. I introduced it on Wednesday to my classes and how I would like them to go about doing the poetry read a thon. My students and I are excited.

Here’s how it works:

My students sign up for a day to read a poem to the class.I have a sign up sheet in the room so that everyone will have a chance to read a poem.  The student reads the poem they have selected to the class on their designated day. The students then paste the poems into their writers’ notebooks and then respond to the poems in paragraph form using the criteria given to them.

Click below for the handout I gave my students.

poetry-readathon3

 

2 Responses to “Poetry Read-A-Thon”

  1. mgarza Says:

    What do you mean by CHIPS?

  2. hey2blondie Says:

    CHIPS stands for

    Capitalization
    Handwriting
    Indenting
    Punctuation
    Spelling


Leave a Reply

