English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Stargirl March 24, 2008

star.jpgOver my break I read Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli and what a wonderful book it is! Stargirl is about a girl, who calls herself Stargirl, because that’s what she’s feeling at the time. Students at her school think she’s an alien and that she is totally weird except for Leo. Leo is intrigued by Stargirl and gets a chance to know her. Stargirl is an optimistic and always looks to cheer up someone around her. He learns valuable lessons about how people should treat each other and that Stargirl could care less what others think about her.

I can’t wait to use this book in my classroom. I have purchased 6 copies so that I can have Literature circles with it.

 

4 Responses to “Stargirl”

  1. thereadingzone Says:

    i LOVE “Stargirl”. I wish I could use it in class, but it’s reserved for 8th grade (even though they don’t really use it).

  2. I really enjoyed this book, too! I’m also planning to use it in my class, but I think I want to reserve it for a whole class activity so that we can all enjoy it at once! I was thinking of using it as a literature circle (or book club) choice, but I may do something different with it. It is just such an inspiring book.

    Have you read the sequel?

    ~Melissa 🙂
    http://www.melissamorris.wordpress.com

  3. Vanesa Says:

    OMG…. this is one of the best books ever!
    i really love this book!
    made me cry! and i think she is unique and leo loves her!
    i just know that i love this book

  4. jayy Says:

    i love this book i fell in love woth it . mi mom had given it 2 meh as a gift and i started reading it && i loveeeeeddd it


Leave a Reply

