English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Slice of Life: Pursed Lips February 27, 2008

Filed under: slice of life writing — hey2blondie @ 6:41 pm
Tags:

“Beep, beep, beep….” the alarm clock blared as I stumbled across the room to shut it off. I groggily wipe the sleep out of my eyes as I slowly put my warm, cozy robe on. The girls are excitedly jumping at my feet and wagging their tails to let me know they need to go outside. We advance towards the back door as they rush outside to relieve themselves. I pour my coffee into a colorful, striped mug as I wait for the girls to come back from outside. Once they’re back inside, my coffee and I creep towards the bathroom to prepare for my morning shower. I carefully place the mug beside the sink before retrieving for my towels. “Ah, the hot water feels good against my cold skin,” I thought. After my shower, I am eager to enjoy my coffee. I pick up the colorful, striped mug and touch it to my lips. I take a big gulp and “AUGH!” I cry. Pursing my lips and spewing it  into the sink. “That’s not my cup of Joe from this morning,” I thought. I looked down and realized that it was the coffee from yesterday, which was also in the same type of colorful striped mug, that I forgot to pour out. I guess I have learned my lesson to take dishes to the kitchen when I am finished.

woman

 

Leave a Reply

