English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s Getting Closer January 8, 2008

What is getting closer? Well, literature circles! Yesterday my students chose 4 books that they would like to read (from those lists I come up with 4 groups that read different books) and today I told them the books they will be reading. Seeing their eyes light up was breath taking. My 6th graders can’t wait to start literture circles. I have been talking about lit circles all year and now they get to be in one. Throughout the year we have been practicing with our reading books, but now they get novels. I have created a calendar that I give to my students so they know what days we have lit circles. I will give them their calendars on Friday. I also use Harvey Daniels book Mini-lessons for Literature Circles, which is a life saver! I highly recommend this book to anyone trying to do lit circles. Your reading class dynamics will turn a 180!

In order to do lit circles, you have to have an assortment of different books and have 4-6 copies of each title. Yes, that can be expensive, but I go to the used book store to get books and goodwill sometimes has them. Sometimes at the end of the year I will ask students to bring in books they don’t want anymore for extra credit. That’s how I got all my Harry Potter books!

Take a look at this site for information on lit circles:

http://drscavanaugh.org/lit_cir/literature_circle.htm

 

I will post more updates when the books start to open!

lit circ

 

One Response to “It’s Getting Closer”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Thanks for all that you do to bring literature “to life” for the kids at SMS! Your enthusiasm radiates from everything that you do. They are truly blessed to have you as a teacher.


Leave a Reply

