English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Classroom Libraries December 11, 2007

Filed under: classroom management,reading — hey2blondie @ 7:05 pm

libraries.jpgI have a classroom library filled with books for my students to read. I have a system of checking out and in. Well, each year books seem to disappear. Lastweek, I started having my students come to me to check out a book with a limit of 2 out at a time. I have two index box sets. The boxes are alphabetized by authors’ last names. Box one (pink) = cards with books on the shelf. Box two (orange) = cards with books that are checked out. Students sign the back of the card and I place it in the appropriate box.

Do you have a way that you have your students check out books? I would love to hear about it. What do you do if a child loses your book? 

 

2 Responses to “Classroom Libraries”

  1. mollycoffman Says:

    I don’t really have a good system, but I’ve wanted to work on that. Your system sounds pretty good. I have my name in sharpie across the top edge of the book and I ask the students to return it. They usually do. So far, I guess I haven’t lost too many of them, so I don’t worry about it too much when one goes missing. I couldn’t remember who has it anyway. I’m just thrilled when they borrow them!

  2. hey2blondie Says:

    This system of having them come to me is working better. Now, I know who has my books.


Leave a Reply

