English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Jammed Window September 10, 2007

Filed under: poetry,wn entry — hey2blondie @ 6:22 pm

My Jammed Window

My mind is like a jammed window
Ideas, thoughts, and images
Trapped inside
Wanting out

I tap, bang
Tug, and pull
At the panes
Nothing happens

Ideas, thoughts, and images
Shift side to side
Ruffling my mind
Rattling the panes

Un-sticking my jammed window
Crack! It opens
Allowing my ideas, thoughts, and images
To be free

Free to dance
On the lines
Of my writer’s notebook’s
Blank pages

By: Andi Neihoff

 

3 Responses to “My Jammed Window”

  1. Ruth Says:

    Wow . . . that’s just about all I can say (to quote Lily from Lily’s Purple Plastic Purse )! I love what you did with the line breaks. Very powerful.

  2. Maureen Says:

    Fabulous poem…Would you mind if I shared it with my sixth graders? We are just launching our WN…

  3. hey2blondie Says:

    I would love for you to share my poem!


Leave a Reply

