English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My celebrity profile August 21, 2007

Filed under: writers' notebook,writing,writing activities,writing workshop — hey2blondie @ 9:29 pm

I decided to use Stacey’s idea about the celebrity profile from Vopat’s book. Here is mine.

Name: Mrs. Neihoff

Brief Biographical Sketch: Mrs. Neihoff has taught at SMS for 7 years. She graduated from Austin Peay State University in May of 2000 and lives in Jackson, TN with her husband Tony. Mrs. Neihoff is a teacher consultant for the West Tennessee Writing Project and is currently working on teacher research in her classroom.

When did you start writing? I started writing avidly in the summer of 2005 when I attended the WTWP. I never realized until then that I could write and that other people would actually listen to what I had written.

What do you do to get ready to write? I think about it in my head and then jot it down in my writer’s notebook.

What are your favorite writing materials? I love to use black ink Bic pens or mechanical pencils on lined composition notebooks.

What do you do to put off writing? Well, most of the time when I have the urge to write, I write, but if I don’t want to write, I watch T.V., read, or sew.

What inspires you to write? I am inspired by quotes of what people have said, pictures, sunsets, what’s going on in my mind at the time, and nature.

If you had a pen name, what would it be? I don’t know if I would have one. I like my name.

What have you always wanted to write? Maybe one day I will write a children’s book or a book of poems.

I plan to use this with my 7th grade students.

 

6 Responses to “My celebrity profile”

  1. Stacey Says:

    LMK how it turns out.

  2. hey2blondie Says:

    Will do!

  3. hey2blondie Says:

    I might make a class book out of these!

  4. […] celebrity writer’s profile-show Avi’s profile and mine- discuss what good writers do and write in writer’s notebook-students create their own […]

  5. […] 2007 Filed under: Uncategorized — hey2blondie @ 6:38 pm Here is my bulletin board for my celebrity profiles. I am going to place my students’ profiles on the board and in the hallway to […]


Leave a Reply

