English Teacher Party: A Look into the Real Life of an English Teacher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Writing Club Interest Meeting October 7, 2011

Filed under: writers' notebook,Writing Club — hey2blondie @ 10:35 pm

This past Wednesday I had my Spilling Ink Writer’s Club interest meeting. 21 students signed up and 17 attended the meeting. I was thrilled. At the meeting I passed out permission forms and a quick interest survey. I wanted to see why they attended and the types of topics they wanted to write. We wrote as well. The students seemed to enjoy it.

What makes me the happiest is one of my struggling students signed up and attended the meeting. He wrote and shared. That just warmed my heart. I know this club will be beneficial to him in so many ways – socially, academically, and mentally.

Our next meeting is Oct. 19 and I can’t wait. My plans are to do Halloween themed writing. Any suggestions?

 

3 Responses to “Writing Club Interest Meeting”

  1. Angela Says:

    What are your ideas for Halloween themed writing?

  2. mollycoffman Says:

    I’m glad to hear that you’ve had good interest in your writing club. We have a reading club at school. This year our theme is contemporary American writers. Last month we discussed Stephen King. This month we’re looking at a poet. We’ll alternate fiction and poetry each month. We only had 4 kids come, but it was still fun.
    How’d the Halloween writing go?

  3. hey2blondie Says:

    The Halloween writing went well. I need to post something, but haven’t felt well lately. The kids enjoyed the monster exchange and writing their own ghost stories. I promise to post soon!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers